Attorney at law

 

About

Sebastien Codeço

  • LinkedIn Social Icône
  • Facebook
  • Instagram

01/

Background and experience

02/

International

03/

Full range of services

04/

Proximity

Sebastien Codeço successfully graduated from Université Paris I Panthéon-Sorbonne with a masters in business and private law and also holds a professional arbitration and international business law masters’ degree from Université Paris V Descartes.

Sebastien Codeço began his legal career in business law by within the legal department of a public industrial company followed by further experience in the corporate department of an American law firm. Sebastien Codeço then joined a renowned criminal law practice, where he was able to develop his litigation skills and criminal law experience.

As a multilingual lawyer with extensive training in international law, Maître Sebastien Codeço works in French, English, Portuguese and Spanish. He frequently advises foreign companies with a view to develop their activities in France, as well as individuals and corporations looking to establish themselves in Portugal.

Sebastien Codeço provides both legal counsel and litigation services in all respects related to commercial and business law, corporate law, commercial litigation, criminal law and white collar litigation, whether as litigator

Commercial law

Creation of commercial activities, legal advice on the preparation of standard terms of sale, purchase and use, commercial leases (lessor or lessee), services agreements, fonds de commerce (going concerns), GDPR

Criminal law

Defendants and claimants, crimes and misdemeanors suffered by property and individuals, financial and economic criminal law, assistance with all stages of legal proceedings, criminal liability of legal entities and corporate officers

Company law

Incorporation and legal monitoring of companies, legal advice on the preparation of all deeds, contracts and formalities, shareholders’ agreements, sale and purchase of securities, corporate reorganizations, capital operations

Portugal

Acquisition of the non-habitual resident status (NHR), acquisition and sale of real property, incorporation of companies, tax advice, matrimonial regimes

Litigation

General commercial litigation, corporate officers, shareholders and companies’ liability, debt revocery, urgent and summary proceedings, unfair competition

Portuguese nationality

Acquisition of the Portuguese nationality by descendants of Portuguese jews

 

Areas of practice

 

International

Partnership ZLP/SC

Paris / Porto

A single point of contact between France and Portugal

Since 2018, Sebastien Codeço is partnered with Portuguese law firm ZLP, Zélia Leal Pinto Advogaga, admitted to the bar of Porto, Portugal.

 

From France to Portugal, Zélia Leal Pinto and Sebastien Codeço provide complementary assistance to both French investors willing to establish themselves in Portugal and Portuguese investors wishing to conduct business in France.

 

The purpose of this partnership is to offer a single point of contact to individuals and companies in respect of all transactions involving France and Portugal (acquisition of the non-habitual resident statuts (NHR), acquisition and sale of real property, incorporation of companies and related legal assistance, tax matters, matrimonial regimes, etc.).

 

This alliance is fully integrated and offers a wide range of skills in diverse areas of practice to provide clients with professional and responsive service whether in France or in Portugal.

Zélia  Leal Pinto 

Lawyer and legal partner / Porto

Areas of practice

Tax law

 Company law

 Employment law

 Criminal law

 Litigation

 Insolvency proceedings

Working languages

Portuguese

English

French

Legal fees are governed by Article 11 of the Paris Bar Internal Rules (Règlement Intérieur du Barreau de Paris).

 

Such fees are determined “based on the time allocated to the relevant case, the financial situation of the client, the complexity of the case, costs incurred by the lawyer, the lawyer’s recognition and his/her diligence.”

 

Legal fees may either consist of fees invoiced on a time-spent basis or a flat fee. Success fees may also be invoiced in certain cases.

 

Sebastien Codeço mainly invoices legal fees on a time-spent basis. A flat fee may be agreed for certain cases (incorporation of companies, single-hearing misdemeanor cases, etc.).

 

A mandatory fee agreement is signed at the beginning of the proceedings, providing for the applicable rate as well as invoicing and payment modalities. For the sake of transparency, clients are regularly informed of the evolution of the fees invoiced.

 

Sebastien Codeço’s policy is to manage and mitigate costs for the client to the maximum extent possible.

01/

Transparency

02/

Cost control

03/

Trust

04/

Legal aid

Fees

 
Sebastien Codeço

For a prompt response, please leave me a message by using the contact form below.

Attorney-at-law admitted to the Paris Bar

+33.(0)6.47.10.44.28
contact@codecoavocat.fr

Appointment only

Contact

Attorney at law

 

Sebastien Codeço

01/

Formation

02/

International

03/

Pluridisciplinarité

04/

Proximité

Sebastien Codeço est diplômé de l’Université Paris I Panthéon-Sorbonne en droit privé et en droit des affaires, et est titulaire d’un Master de droit international des affaires et arbitrage de l’Université Paris V Descartes.

Formé au droit des affaires au sein de la direction juridique d’un groupe industriel coté, puis au sein d’un cabinet d’avocats anglo-saxon, Maître Codeço a par la suite intégré le cabinet d’un avocat pénaliste de renom, au sein duquel il a pu développer ses compétences en contentieux et droit pénal.

Plurilingue et formé au droit international, Maître Sebastien Codeço travaille en Français, Anglais, Portugais et Espagnol. Il accompagne régulièrement des sociétés étrangères venues développer leur activité en France, ainsi que les personnes et sociétés souhaitant s'installer au Portugal.

Le cabinet intervient tant en conseil qu'en contentieux, pour toutes les problématiques relatives au droit commercial et des affaires, au droit des sociétés, au contentieux commercial et au droit pénal général et des affaires.

Droit commercial

Création d'activités commerciales, Rédaction de CGV, CGA, CGU, Baux commerciaux (preneur et bailleur), Contrats de prestation de service de tous types, Fonds de commerce, RGPD

Droit pénal

Accusés, prévenus et partie civile, Crimes et délits contre les biens et les personnes, Droit pénal économique et financier, Assistance à tous les stades de la procédure, Responsabilité pénale des dirigeants et des personnes morales

Droit des sociétés

Création et suivi juridique des sociétés, Actes, contrats et formalités, Pactes d’actionnaires, Acquisition / Cession de titres,  Restructurations / Opérations sur le capital

Portugal

Obtention du statut Résident non-habituel (RNH), Achat/vente de biens immobiliers, Création de société, Fiscalité, Régimes matrimoniaux

Contentieux

Contentieux général et commercial, Responsabilité des dirigeants, associés, sociétés, Recouvrement d’impayés, Procédures d’urgence, Concurrence déloyale

Nationalité Portugaise

Obtention de la nationalité portugaise pour les descendants de juifs portugais

 
 

Partenariat ZLP/SC

Paris / Porto

Un guichet unique entre la France et le Portugal

Sebastien Codeço est engagé depuis 2018 dans un partenariat avec le cabinet portugais ZLP, Zélia Leal Pinto Advogada, du Barreau de Porto, Portugal.

 

Maîtres Zélia Leal Pinto et Sebastien Codeço interviennent de manière complémentaire dans la relation entre la France et le Portugal, pour assister les investisseurs français qui s’implantent au Portugal ou vice-versa.

 

L’objet de ce partenariat est de proposer un guichet unique aux personnes physiques et morales pour toutes les opérations se déroulant entre le Portugal et la France (Obtention du statut Résident non-habituel (RNH), achat/vente de biens immobiliers, création et suivi de sociétés, fiscalité, régime matrimoniaux, etc.).

 

Cette alliance de compétences pluridisciplinaires est organisée de manière très intégrée, afin que le client puisse être servi de manière professionnelle et réactive en France comme au Portugal.

Zélia  Leal Pinto 

Avocate partenaire / Porto

Domaines d'activité

Droit fiscal

Droit des sociétés

Droit du travail

Droit pénal

Contentieux

Entreprises en difficultés

Langues de travail

Portugais

Anglais

Français

Les honoraires des avocats sont régis par l’article 11 du Règlement Intérieur du Barreau de Paris.

Ces honoraires sont fixés en « fonction du temps consacré à l'affaire, de la situation de fortune du client, de la difficulté de l’affaire, des frais exposés par l’avocat, de sa notoriété et des diligences de celui-ci. »

Les honoraires des avocats sont principalement de deux types : honoraires au temps passé et forfait. Ils peuvent en plus être accompagnés d’un honoraire de résultat.

Le cabinet fonctionne essentiellement sur des honoraires au temps passé. Toutefois, dans certains cas, il est possible de convenir d’un tarif forfaitaire pour l’intégralité d’une procédure (Constitution de société, dossier correctionnel avec une seule audience, etc.).

Une convention d’honoraires est obligatoirement signée en début de dossier, fixant le taux applicable ainsi que les modalités de facturation et de règlement. Dans un souci de transparence, les clients sont régulièrement informés de l’évolution du montant des honoraires.

Maître Sebastien Codeço a pour politique la maitrise maximale des coûts pour un état de frais réduit autant que possible.

01/

Transparence

02/

Maîtrise des coûts

03/

Confiance

04/

Aide juridictionnelle